Sporting Alfas Cricket Club Sporting Alfas 2nd X1 v Theale C C on Sun 01 Mar 2015 at 1.00
Sporting Alfas Cricket Club Lost Sporting Alfas lost by 115 Runs

Match report Debutant touring team Thele finished their inauguaral tour to Sporting Alfas with an overpowering win against the 2nd XI in a game that had a bit of everything and which was enjoyed by all.

After a late night coin toss, it was agreed that Theale would open the batting in the match and Alfas took to the field. The Alfas openers of Brown and Braithwaite struggled to make any breakthrough early on and the Theale openers took the score to 56 without loss after 10 overs. 1st Change bowler Dell soon changed that with his very first ball, tempting P. Ayer to hole out to skipper Perman. The sight of the batsman cheering on the catcher was testament to the hard work put in the night before by the Theale club in the Alfas hut.

The Theale scoring contined through the spells of Dell and Bodnarac until Skipper Perman came on to give the game another shot of excitement. In his first over White popped one up but neither Marriner nor Perman was giving up on the catch, Marriner getting there only sightly before Perman's knee took Marinner in the face, splitting his lip and winning Marriner 5 stitches later in the day to quell the bloodflow. However, just 2 balls later, Perman wreaked havock again, this time taking a simple return catch of his own bowling to send White back to the hut with the score on 119.

Wigmore joined Mead at the crease but Mead, in another one for the books, stepped across the line, sent the ball for 4 but in his eagerness to complete the shot, kicked his stumps nearly as far and went hit wicket for a very good 43. From then,Wigmore took control, hitting 71 off 45 before he too suffered a facial injury off the bowling of Marriner and had to retire hurt. Theale eventually closing their innings with 259/7 off their 40 overs, Wellington Smith picking up 3 wickets for Alfas and Perman taking 3 catches.

Brown and McKinnstry strode out after tea to see how they could reply to Theale's imposing score but with good bowling and safe hands from the visitors, Alfas were reduced to 85/9 off 16 OVers, a late entertaining flourish was had by Perman who hit 34 Not Out off 18 deliveries to bring Alfas to a final score of 144 in reply.

Alfas Man of the Match - Mark Perman, 34N.O., 1 Wicket, 3 Catches

Theale C C Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
10w 4b 1lb 
for 7 wickets
258 (40.0 overs)
P. Ayer ct  M. Perman Bowled A. Dell 39 41 7 95.12
P. Mead hit wicket  Bowled J. Wallington Smith 43 51 5 1 84.31
J. White ct  C & B M. Perman 32 37 5 86.49
A. Wigmore retired out  Facial Injury 71 45 10 2 157.78
J. Morris ct  M. Perman Bowled B. Marriner 18 24 1 75.00
E. Choules st  I. Byrne Bowled J. Wellington Smith 15 14 2 107.14
R. Dimack ct  A. Dell Bowled J. Wellington Smith 16 13 2 123.08
R. Sankaran b  John Braithwaite 5 8 62.50
S. Arrowsmith Not Out  4 6 66.67
M. Dixon Not Out  0 1 0
B. Cooper  

Sporting Alfas Cricket Club Sporting Alfas 2nd X1 Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Tyler Hogan Brown8.003700.004.62
John Braithwaite8.0047147.005.88
Andy Dell6.0033133.005.50
Anton Bodnarec4.002300.005.75
Ben Marriner4.0037137.009.25
Mark Perman4.0028128.007.00
James Wallington Smith6.0048316.008.00

Sporting Alfas Cricket Club Sporting Alfas 2nd X1 Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
13w 10b  
for 10 wickets

(21.4 overs)
Neil McKinstry ct  A. Fielder Bowled S. Arrowsmith 6 18 1 33.33
Tyler Hogan Brown ct  A. Fielder Bowled S. Arrowsmith 17 18 2 94.44
Geoff Evans lbw  Bowled R. Sankaran 13 18 3 72.22
Ian Byrne b  R. Dimack 21 17 5 123.53 1
Ben Marriner b  R. Sankaran 0 5 0
Chris Cooper ct  A. Fielder Bowled B. Cooper 10 10 2 100
John Braithwaite ct  Caught & Bowled R. Dimack 0 4 0
Andy Dell ct  Bowled J. Morris 4 2 1 200 1
Anton Bodnarec ct  Bowled B. Cooper 0 5 0
James Wallington Smith ct  Caught & Bowled P. Mead 16 15 3 106.67
Mark Perman Not Out  34 18 8 188.89 3

Theale C C Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
S. Arrowsmith6.0042221.007.00
R. Sankaran6.021427.002.33
R. Dimack2.001728.508.50
B. Cooper3.01623.002.00
J. Morris3.0043143.0014.33
P. Mead1.4012112.007.20